Leave a comment

So I’m supposed to do a chart, yes? Wow am I behind. Anyway, today in History of Germany class I wondered if there was a chart on the population of the various German minorities post-WWI, during the Weimar Republic, and then at various points in the Nazi regime, and then finally post-WWII. Then I thought, “Well why don’t I just make one?” So I am.

I’m going with the ethnic names of Jews, Afro-Germans, Gypsies, Homosexuals, and Aryans. I thought briefly about calling Aryans “Germans”, but then I realized that all of them are, in fact, Germans, so I went with Aryans because I couldn’t think of a better name.

Obviously there are difficulties in this project, in data mining of course, but also, well, the text spells it out nicely here:

According to the census of June 16, 1933, the Jewish population of Germany, including the Saar region (which at that time was still under the administration of the League of Nations), was approximately 505,000 people out of a total population of 67 million, or somewhat less than 0.75 percent. That number represented a reduction from the estimated 523,000 Jews living in Germany in January 1933; the decrease was due in part to emigration following the Nazi takeover in January. (An estimated 37,000 Jews emigrated from Germany during 1933.)

source

In case you’re wondering, January 1933 was the official Nazi takeover of Germany.

So if I wanted to look at the Jewish population, do I use the January 1933 amount, or the June 1933 amount? Thus far the only other data point I’ve been able to find is from another article on the same site, listing the 1925 German Jewish population as 564,973.

Hm hm hm hm hm.

Another article by the same site lists the 1933 Jewish population as 565,000. What’s up with that, guys? Maybe I should try a different site.

Posted November 9, 2011 by agentksilver in Digital IT

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

