Maroon 5’s “Daylight” was playing nonstop on the radio, I had to fix it   Leave a comment

As the song begins, Guy and Girl are lying in bed. She is lying on her side, her back to him, sound asleep. He is also on his side, facing her. He is sitting up on his elbow, however, his arm lightly across her, gazing at her. He sings.

Here I am waiting, I’ll have to leave soon, why am I holdin’ on

The slow scene of him gazing at her becomes interspersed with fast shots of him climbing out of bed, putting on his pants and shoes, checking to make sure he has his keys, and climbing out the window.

We knew this day would come, we knew it all along
How did it come so fast
This is our last night, but it’s late and I’m tryin’ not to sleep
‘Cuz I know, when I wake I will have to slip away

Guy is walking in the street as the sunrise begins. It is all very pretty and artsy-fartsy. He sings towards the camera.

And when the daylight comes I’ll have to go
But, tonight I’m ‘gonna hold you so close
‘Cuz in the daylight, we’ll be on our own
But, tonight I need to hold you so close

A few more shots of Guy making his exit from the room.

Oh whoa, oh whoa, oh whoa
Oh whoa, oh whoa, oh whoa

A coffee shop, broad daylight. Girl smiles at Guy. She has a kind, warm smile.

Here I am staring, at your perfection in my arms; so beautiful.

We look again at Guy walking in the street. He looks up at the streetlights, which are going out because the day has started.

The sky is getting bright, the stars are burnin’ out.
Somebody slow it down.

Back in the coffee shop, Girl hands Guy a cup of coffee from across the counter. He smiles at her. His smile is full of affection and excitement. She returns the smile.

This is way too hard, ‘cuz I know when the sun comes up I will leave
This is my last glance that will soon be memories

Guy looks up a ladder at the Girl’s window.

Girl leaves the coffee shop, checking her phone. She gets out her car keys, gets into her car, drives away. We see Guy sitting in a truck. The truck has a ladder in the back. He turns the truck on and follows her car.

And when the daylight comes I’ll have to go
But, tonight I’m ‘gonna hold you so close

Girl parks, gets out of her car, and walks into her apartment building. A light turns on in her apartment on the second floor. Guy sits in his truck across the street, watching.

‘Cuz in the daylight, we’ll be on our own
But, tonight I need to hold you so close

Oh whoa, oh whoa, oh whoa
Oh whoa, oh whoa, oh whoa

In the dead of night, Guy gets the ladder from the back of his truck and puts it under the window that had lit up earlier.

I never wanted to stop, because I don’t want to start all over, start all over

Guy opens the window easily. She is asleep, her back to the window. He creeps in and begins taking off his shoes and pants.

I was afraid of the dark, but now it’s all that I want, all that I want, all that I want

He sets his keys and cell phone on the end table and climbs into bed. We have a shot of them lying in bed in the middle of the night. He is cuddled up to her, and sings.

And when the daylight comes I’ll have to go
But, tonight I’m ‘gonna hold you so close
‘Cuz in the daylight, we’ll be on our own
But, tonight I need to hold you so close

We see the scene again, when he climbs out of bed, puts his pants and shoes back on, gets his keys, and climbs out the window.

And when the daylight comes I’ll have to go
But, tonight I’m ‘gonna hold you so close
‘Cuz in the daylight, we’ll be on our own
But, tonight I need to hold you so close

Guy loads his ladder in the truck, then looks around.

Oh whoa, oh whoa, oh whoa

Girl wakes up, rolls over to look at the clock, and sees the cell phone still sitting on the night stand.

Oh whoa, oh whoa, oh whoa

Guy decides to start taking a walk. Girl is very confused by the existence of the cell phone.

Oh whoa, (yeah) oh whoa, (yeah) oh whoa (yeah) (yeah)

Guy realizes that his cell phone is missing.

Oh whoa, (yeah hey) oh whoa, (yeah hey) oh whoa

Girl looks out the window and sees the truck and Guy, obviously missing his cell phone.

Leave a Reply

