Designo (I draw)   Leave a comment

Be this how it may, both Curio the Elder and Curio the Younger reproached Pompey for having married Caesar’s daughter Julia, when it was because of Caesar, whom he had often despairingly called `Aegisthus’, that he divorced Mucia, mother of his three children. This Aegisthus had been the lover of Agamemnon’s wife Clytaemnestra.

But Marcus Brutus’s mother Servilia was the woman whom Caesar loved best, and in his first consulship he brought her a pearl worth ` 60,000 gold pieces. He gave her many presents during the Civil War, ‘as well as knocking down certain valuable estates to her at a public auction for a song. When surprise was expressed at the low price, Cicero made a neat remark: `It was even cheaper than you think, because a third (tertia) had been discounted.’ Servilia, you see, was also suspected at the time of having prostituted her daughter Tertia to Caesar.

…wait what?

By the way, if I had been born in Roman days, my name would probably be Tertia. BUT I SHOULDA BEEN SECUNDA.

A few more things I’ve learned from Tranquillius: when Caesar was in Africa, everyone thought only a Scipio could win a campaign in Africa. So he took Salvito Scipio with him to Africa. Salvito had horrible hygiene and manners, so Caesar spent the entire campaign making fun of him. I’m about 2/3rds through this reading, and I’m already making a movie montage in my head about Caesar. Now he has a fat, sloppy sidekick name Salvito Scipio.

Further cast members will be created as I continue to do research for my presentation.

So today I walked from my apartment to the Circus Maximus!

It occurs to me that I never show you the ugly parts of Rome. I'm wondering if I should fix that.

It occurs to me that I never show you the ugly parts of Rome. I’m wondering if I should fix that.

I just love the random Virgin and Child image on an electric box in the middle of a bunch of motorcycle dealterships and car parts stores, across the river from a great ruin. It just...it's just meaningful.

I just love the random Virgin and Child image on an electric box in the middle of a bunch of motorcycle dealterships and car parts stores, across the river from a great ruin. It just…it’s just meaningful.

The Tiber River. I know, not a good picture, but I wanted to make sure I had a picture of.

The Tiber River. I know, not a good picture, but I wanted to make sure I had a picture of it.

This picture is included because I think it is pretty.

This picture is included because I think it is pretty.

My first hint that my walk was actually leading somewhere.  The sun behind the shadowed ruin helped.

My first hint that my walk was actually leading somewhere. The sun behind the shadowed ruin helped.

Look both ways before you cross the street!

Look both ways before you cross the street!

Now look the other way.

Now look the other way.

Annnnd the other way.

Annnnd the other way.

There's priests and nuns everywhere in Rome.  I guess it makes sense, but, uh, really, everywhere.

There’s priests and nuns everywhere in Rome. I guess it makes sense, but, uh, really, everywhere.

It was only a twenty-minute walk across the river, or so said Google Maps, but it turned out to be a thirty-minute walk, plus an additional twenty minutes of wandering around trying to find my art class. At one point I crossed the street and there was Chelsea and Allison, who were also wandering around trying to find the Circus Maximus.

Some graffiti on the Circus Maximus (now that I know it's the Circus Maximus)

Some graffiti on the Circus Maximus (now that I know it’s the Circus Maximus)

“Why is it not this gigantic ruin?” we kept wondering (some of more coarsely than others Chelsea), despite all the local’s insistence that the Circus Maximus was not the gigantic ruin. Eventually we realized that the Circus Maximus was the gigantic field right next to the gigantic ruin. The gigantic ruin was the Palantine Hill. Also, our classmates were sitting on the opposite side of the Circus from the ruin. As it turns out, that side of the Circus is the best place to draw the Palantine.

What I was supposed to draw.

What I was supposed to draw.

What I drew.

What I drew.

This pigeon hung out by my feet long enough for me to try to draw it. It walked away once it realized that I was starting at it, so I couldn't make it detailed.  But still, a very pretty bird who was my buddy for a minute.

This pigeon hung out by my feet long enough for me to try to draw it. It walked away once it realized that I was starting at it, so I couldn’t make it detailed. But still, a very pretty bird who was my buddy for a minute.

What I was supposed to draw.

What I was supposed to draw.

What I drew. (please ignore the trees, guh, once I started I couldn't stop even though they were just awful)

What I drew. (please ignore the trees, guh, once I started I couldn’t stop even though they were just awful)

What I was supposed to draw.

What I was supposed to draw.

What I drew.

What I drew.

What I was supposed to draw (for homework).

What I was supposed to draw (for homework).

What I drew.

What I drew.

Leave a Reply

