Smile because it happened   Leave a comment

I’ve packed three boxes! I put some clothing in my overnight suitcase and I’ve been stuffing the rest of my clothes into the boxes. It feels good, making progress, you know?

My sister Lacey stopped by the house momentarily. She was looking for Dad, but Dad was napping, so she grabbed a rug and some old CDs of hers that Mom had found. We carried them out to her car, where she took inventory of the CDs and found a CD by Ludo. She then pulled up the song I’ve shown you above to show to me. I was kind of mumbling random Labyrinth quotes as she pulled it up.


Ludo doesn’t say much

Then she started playing the song, and she straight-up started chasing me around the parking lot pointing at me, jabbing at me, and moshing in general. I was walking backwards around the lot, trying to make sure we didn’t back into anything.

Towards the end of the song, Mom drove up, stopping short of hitting Lacey and I in the street. She was talking with her brother Steve via hands-off cell phone about the ice cream social/my going-away party tomorrow. Lacey and I leaned our heads in and chatted with Steve as well.

Meanwhile, our next-door neighbor emerged from his house to interrupt our conversation. He wanted to report to our mother that we had been dancing in the street, and more importantly, we had done a fine job of it.

We helped Mom carry groceries into the car. Mom bragged that she had gotten an entire case of Dominion Root Beer into the car all by herself (quite an accomplishment, given her recent surgery).

“What is this for?” Lacey asked.
“Some of it is for the social tomorrow,” Mom said.
“Oh, I’ll just put it in my car,” Lacey said.
“No, only some of it is for tomorrow. Some is going to North Carolina.”

It’s those…little things in life, you know? Mom went out and got my favorite root beer for me to take to North Carolina. We have a friendly enough neighborhood that we can play eldritch horror songs and dance in the street to them and neighbors will compliment you on your dance. I’ve been reading nonstop about Ferguson for the last two days, but it seems like it’s okay to acknowledge that your own neighborhood isn’t that bad. That I have good things in life. And maybe, in my new life, I’ll find new good things, too.

Posted August 15, 2014 by agentksilver in Personal

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

