Lately   Leave a comment

James: You were talking in your sleep last night.
Kelsey: I did? What did I say.
James: Ah, man, I can’t remember now. I almost wrote it down. You said something like you were talking to me. Then you said something like I had said something back. Then the last thing you said was “Okay, okay.”

I am disappointed.

Anyway, the weather has been consistent lately. Really, really hot, leading to thunderstorms in the evening. Yesterday it was raining buckets when I walked out of Home Depot, so I booked it across the parking lot. Splashed water all over my butt, but the rest of me was surprisingly dry. Maybe I ran so fast I dried off quickly. Or maybe it was so warm I didn’t notice I was wet. Who knows.

Because it’s been so hot, the new rules for dog-walking at the shelter have us walking the dogs early and quickly, then taking a break during the heat of the day, then walking them later in the evening. When I came in at 10:30 on Tuesday, the dogs had already received their morning walk. I took out the dogs who had been walked first (and who were under 60 pounds).

Dogs who are not desperate to go are really nice to walk. It was too warm for them to walk around a bunch anyway. I ended up walking them over to a shady spot near trees and just sitting with them. I gave them a good back-scratch to get rid of shedding hairs. One dogs, Kendra, desperately needed it. Another dog, Nila, didn’t need it as much, although she had a skin condition of some kind and clearly needed regular attention. Her reaction was to lean into me, and then just plop herself next to me and offer her belly for rubbing. I was happy to oblige. Rocky was too energetic and wouldn’t sit still long enough for petting. Eventually he grabbed onto the leash and started pulling. So I spent ten minutes with him playing tug-of-war.

I actually felt like I had helped these dogs with these interactions. I know that they need to get out and stretch their legs. But they seemed happier when I put them back in their kennels. They looked like normal, happy dogs. Less stressed.

Over at Starbucks, there was a customer sitting in a skirt and a nice ruffled blouse, clearly waiting. Finally a dude showed up, wearing a Big Bang Theory t-shirt and baggy pants. They greeted each other and hugged, and then went to get drinks. They sat in the corner by the door to the back room. They talked for hours.

They appeared to be on a first date. So whenever I had to use the door to the back room, I would take note of what they were talking about.

He: We were playing The Old Republic.
She: I like video games. I play them.
He: Apparently it bothered her that I kept beating her. So finally she yelled at me about it. I was like, why didn’t you talk about it the first time?
She: I do that too.

About an hour later:

He: I’ve had two girlfriends attempt suicide. One of them successful. I had to call the cops on them.

I went on headset and reported that this guy had had two suicidal girlfriends and that this woman ought to run away as soon as she could. My manager made me take out the trash because I clearly didn’t have enough to do. I continued to keep an ear out when I could. Finally they left — together.

I went on headset. “No, don’t leave with him! You can do so much better!”

Dylan replied via headset. “I think they’re related.”

“What? They’re on a date.”

“No, they were talking about family drama.”

I wouldn’t put it past the guy to talk about family drama on a first date. But maybe they were related. Who knows.

Posted June 28, 2015 by agentksilver in Personal

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

